## DALLAS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL DISTRICT #327 REGULAR BOARD MEETING MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING APRIL 20, 2023 – 7:00 P.M. ROOM 5

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 p.m.

Members answering roll were:

Hannah Moss	Present	Sarah Schaefer	Present
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Present
Shasta Heidbreder	Present	Chris Greenhalge	Present
Bob Castillo	Present		

Also present were Mrs. Tucker, Mrs. Simon, Chelae Faul, and Carol Heidbreder.

A moment of silence was observed.

Mrs. Tucker discussed that she has an electrician checking into putting up a dusk to dawn light at the tennis courts. There have been reports of kids up to "no good".

The consent agenda was presented to the board for review. A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Wibbell to approve the items on the Consent Agenda as presented (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

The Bills were presented to the Board for payment. A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Heidbreder to pay the bills as presented (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

The Board Member code of conduct rule #1 was read from the IASB Code of Conduct principles.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Moss to recess the open meeting and call the Bond Hearing to order (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

Mrs. Tucker provided the board with an overview of the Bond information.

A motion was made by Wibbell, seconded by Schaefer, to adjourn the Bond Hearing and return to open meeting (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Moss to approve the intent to sell \$270,660 of School Fire Prevention and Safety Bonds at presented (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer to schedule the FY 2023 Budget Amendment Hearing for 6:30 p.m. on June 15, 2023 (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	_	

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Wibbell, seconded by Moss, to renew the Athletic Co-Op Agreeement with La Harpe for the 2023-2024 and 2024-2025 school years (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
-------------	-----	----------------	-----

Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea	_	

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer, to approve the 2024 La Harpe and Dallas City Cooperative Handbook for Athletes Coaches and Athletic Director.

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

A motion was made by Greenhalge, seconded by Heidbreder, to approve the audit services provided by Dennis Koch for the FY 2023 school year.

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Yea
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent

Mrs. Tucker announced the results of the recent consolidated elected members. Sarah Schaefer, Bob Castillo and Lee Wibbell were reelected to 4-year terms. Shasta Heidbreder was elected for a 2-year term. Erica Stewart was elected for a 4 year term and Scott Faul was elected for a 2-year term.

The oath of office was administered by the President to the six recently elected members.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Wibbell, to appoint Chris Greenhalge as President Pro Tem (Roll Call).

Hannah Moss	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Beth Webster	Absent	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Chris Greenhalge	Abstain
Bob Castillo	Yea		

Motion carried 6 Yeas, 1 Absent, 1 Abstain

The President Pro Tem asked for nominations for President of the Board. Bob Castillo was nominated declared the Board President by the President Pro Tem.

The President asked for nominations for Vice President. Shasta Heidbreder was nominated.

A motion was made by Castillo, seconded by Schaefer, to elect Shasta Heidbreder as Board Vice President (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Scott Faul	Yea	Erica Stewart	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Abstain	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Hannah Moss	Yea		

Motion Carried 6 Yeas, 1 Abstain

The President asked for nominations for Board Secretary. Erica Stewart was nominated.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer, to elect Erica Stewart as Board Secretary (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Scott Faul	Yea	Erica Stewart	Abstain
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Hannah Moss	Yea		

Motion Carried 6 Yeas, 1 Abstain

The board recognized Beth Webster and Chris Greenhalge for their 8 years of service to Dallas Elementary School District #327. They were presented with a plaque.

Erica Stewart the newly elected Board Secretary will finish taking notes for the rest of the board meeting.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Stewart, to set the date, time, and location of regular Board meetings for the third Thursday of each month, or as otherwise noted, at 6:30 p.m. in room 5. The November meeting will be the third Wednesday (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Scott Faul	Yea	Erica Stewart	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Hannah Moss	Yea		

Motion Carried 7 Yeas

Superintendent and Asst. Principal reports were given to the board.

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer, to enter the Closed Meeting at 8:21 p.m. to discuss items per 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1)(10) (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Scott Faul	Yea	Erica Stewart	Yea
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Yea
Hannah Moss	Yea		

Motion Carried 7 Yeas

A motion was made by Moss, seconded by Wibbell, to leave closed meeting and return to open meeting on April 20, 2023 at 9:15 p.m. (Voice).

A motion was made by Heidbreder, seconded by Schaefer, to approve the Personnel Report as amended (Roll Call).

Bob Castillo	Yea	Sarah Schaefer	Yea
Scott Faul	Yea	Erica Stewart	Abstain
Shasta Heidbreder	Yea	Lee Wibbell	Abstain
Hannah Moss	Yea		

Motion Carried 5 Yeas, 2 Abstain

A motion was made by Stewart, seconded by Heidbreder, to adjourn at 9:17 p.m. (voice).

7 Yeas

The next regular Board of Education meeting will be held May 18, 2023 at 6:30 p.m.

Board President, Bob Castillo

Board Secretary, Shasta Heidbreder

Approved:\_\_\_\_\_